Manik Saha Tripura New CM Know Who Is Manik Saha BJP Tripura Chief Minister


New Delhi: Tripura BJP President and newly-elected Rajya Sabha member Manik Saha will be the state’s next Chief Minister, following the resignation of existing Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb on Saturday, news agency IANS reported.

Deb revealed Saha’s nomination for the top office after the hurriedly convened BJP legislative party conference, indicating that he would give all types of support to the incoming Chief Minister.

Congratulating Saha, Deb on his official Twitter handle writes,”Congratulations and best wishes to @DrManikSaha2 ji on being elected as the legislature party leader. I believe under PM Shri @narendramodi Ji’s vision and leadership Tripura will prosper.”

Who Is Manik Saha? 

On March 31, Saha, a 67-year-old dental surgeon-turned-politician, was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Tripura’s lone seat.

Saha, a professor at Tripura Medical College and the B.R. Ambedkar Memorial Teaching Hospital in Agartala, and President of the Tripura Cricket Association joined the BJP in 2016, IANS reported.

Saha, a close associate of departing Chief Minister Deb, was elected President of the Tripura BJP Pradesh Committee in 2021.

The 60-member Tripura Assembly will be elected next year. The BJP took control in the state in 2018, ending the CPM-led Left Front government’s 25-year tenure. This time, it is up against the Trinamool Congress, which received the third highest vote share in the civic polls held last year.

(With IANS Inputs)

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here